2012-08-29

Starting point

My introduction to Erlang was the Pragmatic Programmers book Seven Languages in Seven Weeks. I installed Erlang via Homebrew on my iMac, and away I went.

I quickly became hungry for more, and I found Learn you some Erlang. It is of the highest quality, comparable (at least) to many a published book, but freely available online.

Exercises

I wanted, nay needed, exercises to stretch my legs. Thankfully someone on Stack Overflow asked for some, and from the answers I found An Erlang Course.

The course material was not enough for me to solve the problems, but erlang.org is chock full of documentation.

Unfortunately, finding the right documentation among the piles of information about Erlang + OTP is quite challenging.

Reading

Somewhere I came across a reference to Joe Armstrong’s doctoral thesis on Erlang (PDF) and I’ve been devouring that.

The Pragmatic Programmers come to the rescue yet again: Mr. Armstrong wrote a book covering the same ground: Programming Erlang: Software for a Concurrent World.

I created a custom Erlang section in Zite for ipad; via that, I’ve found a few recent presentations on InfoQ worth a listen.

Next steps

I want to create an iOS MDM server in Erlang, but I’ll probably start with a smaller project. There are several open source projects in Erlang that I hope to start reading through, perhaps even contributing to.

The Pragmatic Programmers have recently released Seven Databases in Seven Weeks and I’m going to work my way through that soon, both to learn more about databases written in Erlang and generally to learn about the new world of non-SQL databases.

Thanks again to Zite, I’ve discovered LINC, an Erlang project in the SDN (software defined networking) world. Might be an opportunity to learn about SDN while learning Erlang, but might require too much pain to set up a testing environment.

erlang
Previous post
Keeping Score Knowledge Management for Dummies, a rant.
Next post
Chessboard: Day 1 Time to take Erlang out for a spin.